And the Oscar Should Have Gone to…Best Film Editing

Here is the last installment of “And the Oscar Goes Should Have Gone to” for the 2017 Academy Awards season, though I will periodically continue those for particular years throughout the year. The last award to highlight is Best Film Editing. The award began for the films of 1934, but I will begin my list with the first Oscar year (for the movies of 1927 and 1928). Once I reach 1934, I will put the Oscar winner first, a grade for the editing of the film, and then my choice for the years best edited film. My only rule for eligibility is that the film must have received an American theatrical release in the year of consideration, not always aligning perfectly with the Oscars.

mv5bmtmznzc0ndg2of5bml5banbnxkftztcwnjqxmtkznq-_v1_sx1777_cr001777740_al_Lisa Fruchtman is one my most winning editors, along with George Tomasinin (at the bottom of the page). She should have won for Apocalypse Now (1979; pictured), The Right Stuff (1983), & The Godfather Part III (1990)

 

 

1927-28 Harold D. Schuster, Sunrise

1929 Marguerite Beaugé, The Passion of Joan of Arc

1930 Edgar Adams, All Quiet on the Western Front

1931 Clarence Kolster, Frankenstein

1932 Blanche Sewell, Grand Hotel

1933 Paul Falkenberg, M

1934 Conrad A. Nervig, Eskimo (Unseen); my pick: Robert Kern, The Thin Man

1935 Ralph Dawson, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (A+); my pick: William LeVanway, A Night at the Opera

1936 Ralph Dawson, Anthony Adverse (Unseen); my pick: Willard Nico, Modern Times

1937 Gene Havlick & Gene Milford, Lost Horizon (Unseen); my pick: William H. Terhune, Topper

1938 Ralph Dawson, The Adventures of Robin Hood (A+); my pick: Marthe Huguet & Marguerite Renoir, Grand Illusion

1939 Harold C. Kern & James E. Newcom, Gone with the Wind (A+); my pick: Blanche Sewell, The Wizard of Oz

1940 Anne Bauchens, North West Mounted Police (Unseen); my pick: Willard Nico, The Great Dictator

1941 William Holmes, Sergeant York (F); my pick: Robert Wise, Citizen Kane

1942 Daniel Mandell, The Pride of the Yankees (D); my pick: Owen Marks, Casablanca

1943 George Amy, Air Force (C+); my pick: Milton Carruth, Shadow of a Doubt

1944 Barbara McLean, Wilson (C); my pick: Doane Harrison, Double Indemnity

1945 Robert J. Kern, National Velvet (A); my pick: Doane Harrison, The Lost Weekend

1946 Daniel Mandel, The Best Years of Our Lives (A+); I agree

1947 Francis Lyon & Robert Parish, Body and Soul (B-); my pick: Samuel E. Beetley, Out of the Past

1948 Paul Weatherwax, The Naked City (B); my pick: Owen Marks, The Treasure of the Sierra Madre

1949 Harry W. Gerstad, Champion; my pick: Ralph E. Winters, On the Town

1950 Conrad A. Nervig, King Solomon’s Mines (A); my pick: Oswald Hafenrichter, The Third Man

1951 William Hornbeck, A Place in the Sun (A+); my pick: Akira Kurosawa, Rashomon

1952 Elmo Williams & Harry W. Gerstad, High Noon (C+); my pick: Adrienne Fazan, Singin’ in the Rain

1953 William A. Lyon, From Here to Eternity (C); my pick: George Tomasini, Stalag 17

1954 Gene Milford, On the Waterfront (A+); I agree

1955 Charles Nelson & William A. Lyon, Picnic (D+); my pick: Robert Golden, The Night of the Hunter

1956 Gene Rugiero & Paul Weatherwax, Around the World in 80 Days (A+); my pick: Betty Steinberg, The Killing

1957 Peter Taylor, The Bridge on the River Kwai (B-); my pick: Carl Lerner, 12 Angry Men

1958 Adrienne Fazan, Gigi (B-); my pick: George Tomosini, Vertigo

1959 Ralph E. Winters & John G. Durning, Ben-Hur (A+); I agree

1960 Daniel Mandel, The Apartment (A+); my pick: George Tomosini, Psycho

1961 Thomas Stanford, West Side Story (F); my pick: Frederic Knudtson, Judgment at Nuremberg

1962 Anne V. Coates, Lawrence of Arabia (A+); my pick: Ferris Webster, The Manchurian Candidate

1963 Harold F. Kress, How the West Was Won (A-); my pick: Jim Clark, Charade

1964 Cotton Warburton, Mary Poppins (A+); I agree

1965 William H. Reynolds, The Sound of Music (C+); my pick: Anne-Marie Cotret & Monique Teisseire, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg

1966 Fredric Steinkamp, Harry Berman, Stewart Linder, & Frank Santillo, Grand Prix (Unseen); my pick: Daniel Mandel, The Fortune Cookie

1967 Hal Ashby, In the Heat of the Night (A+); my pick: Alberto Grimaldi, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

1968 Frank P. Keller, Bullitt (Unseen); my pick: Ray Lovejoy, 2001: A Space Odyssey 

1969 Françoise Bonnot, Z (Unseen); my pick: Don Cambern, Easy Rider

1970 Hugh H. Fowler, Patton (A+); my pick: Thelma Schoonmaker, Woodstock

1971 Gerald B. Greenberg, The French Connection (B); my pick: Lou Lombardo, McCabe & Mrs. Miller

1972 David Bretherton, Cabaret (A+); my pick: William H. Reynolds & Peter Zinner, The Godfather 

1973 William H. Reynolds, The Sting (A+); I agree

1974 Howard F. & William Kress, The Towering Inferno (Unseen); my pick: Barry Malkin, Richard Marks, & Peter Zinner, The Godfather Part II

1975 Verna Fields, Jaws (B+); my pick: Dede Allen, Dog Day Afternoon

1976 Richard Halsey & Scott Conrad, Rocky (A); my pick: Robert L. Wolfe, All the President’s Men

1977 Paul Hirsch, Marcia Lucas, & Richard Chew, Star Wars (A+); I agree

1978 Peter Zinner, The Deer Hunter (C); my pick: Pembroke J. Herring, Foul Play

1979 Alan Heim, All That Jazz (Unseen); my pick: Richard Marks, Walter Murch, Gerald B. Greenberg, & Lisa Fruchtman, Apocalypse Now

1980 Thelma Schoonmaker, Raging Bull (B+); my pick: Paul Hirsch, Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

1981 Michael Kahn, Raiders of the Lost Ark (B+); my pick: Robert L. Wolfe, On Golden Pond

1982 John Bloom, Gandhi (A-); my pick: Carol Littleton, E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial

1983 Glenn Farr, Lisa Fruchtman, Stephen A. Rotter, Douglas Stewart, & Tom Rolf, The Right Stuff (A+); I agree

1984 Jim Clark, The Killing Fields (Unseen); my pick: Kent Beyda & Kim Secrest, This Is Spinal Tap

1985 Thom Noble, Witness (A+); my pick: Akira Kurosawa, Ran

1986 Claire Simpson, Platoon (C+); my pick: John Jympson, Little Shop of Horrors

1987 Gabriella Cristiani, The Last Emperor (A-); my pick: Lou Lombardo, Moonstruck

1988 Arthur Schmidt, Who Framed Roger Rabbit? (A+); I agree

1989 David Brenner & Joe Hutshing, Born on the Fourth of July (B-); my pick: Barry Alexander Brown, Do the Right Thing

1990 Neil Travis, Dances with Wolves (F); my pick: Lisa Fruchtman, Jane Jenkins, & Roger Mussenden, The Godfather Part III

1991 Joe Hutshing & Pietro Scalia, JFK (F); my pick: “Roderick Jaynes” (aka Joel & Ethan Coen, Barton Fink

1992 Joel Cox, Unforgiven (A+); my pick: Geraldine Peroni, The Player

1993 Michael Kahn, Schindler’s List (A+); I agree

1994 Arthur Schmidt, Forrest Gump (A+); my pick: Sally Menke, Pulp Fiction

1995 Mike Hill & Daniel P. Hanley, Apollo 13 (B+); my pick: Richard Francis Bruce, Se7en

1996 Walter Murch, The English Patient (C+); my pick: “Roderick Jaynes” (aka Joel & Ethan Coen), Fargo

1997 Conrad Buff, James Cameron, & Richard A. Harris, Titanic (C-); David Freeman & Nick Moore, The Full Monty

1998 Michael Kahn, Saving Private Ryan (B-); my pick: Eric L. Beeson & Arthur Coburn, A Simple Plan

1999 Zach Staenberg, The Matrix (Unseen); my pick: Robert K. Lambert, Three Kings

2000 Stephen Mirrione, Traffic (D); my pick: Tim Squyres, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

2001 Pietro Scalia, Black Hawk Down (A); my pick: Jill Bilcock, Moulin Rouge

2002 Martin Walsh, Chicago (A); my pick: Kurt Engfehr, Bowling for Columbine

2003 Jamie Selkirk, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (C-); my pick: Dody Dorn, Matchstick Men

2004 Thelma Schoonmaker, The Aviator (A); my pick: Angie Lam, Vincent Lee, & Ru Zhai, Hero

2005 Hughes Winborne, Crash (A); my pick: Christopher Tellefsen, Capote

2006 Thelma Schoonmaker, The Departed (A+); I agree

2007 Christopher Rouse, The Bourne Ultimatum (Unseen); my pick: François Bonnot, Across the Universe

2008  Chirs Dickens, Slumdog Millionaire (A+); I agree

2009 Bon Innis & Bob Murawski, The Hurt Locker (B+); my pick: Salle Menke, Inglourious Basterds

2010 Kirk Baxter & Angus Wall, The Social Network (A+); my pick: Andrew Weisblum, Black Swan

2011 Kirk Baxter & Angus Wall, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Unseen); my pick: Anne-Sophie Bion & Michel Hazinavicus, The Artist

2012 William Goldenberg, Argo (A+); I agree

2013 Alfonso Cuarón & Mark Sanger, Gravity (A+); I agree

2014 Tom Cross, Whiplash (A+); I agree

2015 Margaret Sixel, Mad Max: Fury Road (D-); my pick: Michael Kahn, Bridge of Spies

mv5bnzq5ntywmdexnf5bml5banbnxkftztcwmjg3mju4mw-_v1_sy1000_cr0015381000_al_George Tomasini is one of my three most winning editors. He should have won for Stalag 17 (1953), Vertigo (1958, pictured), and Psycho (1960)

Leave a Reply

