List: Best Film Quotes #200-176

I apologize for the incomplete post on Thursday. I began this project of the best movie quotes quite a while ago and had them all scheduled but was unable to get the first one complete, but now here it is.

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the American Film Institute’s list of the 100 greatest movie quotes (See their list here). For the rest of this year, I will publish my own list of the greatest quotes, but I will have 200 quotes. My list will represent several categories of films that were ineligible for the AFI (non-American films, documentaries, and films of the last ten years). I will present 25 quotes each list, and you watch the scenes that contain these quotes by clicking on this Youtube link.

mv5bmjexmdqzmta2nv5bml5banbnxkftztcwntm0ndqynw-_v1_sy1000_cr0013351000_al_

Picture: Meet Me in St. Louis (1944), 4 quotes in top 200

 

200.  “How would you feel if somebody broke your dinosaur?”…”I never had one. We were too poor.” On the Town (1949) *No video available.*

199.  “I killed him! I killed him! I’m the most horrible!” Meet Me in St. Louis (1944) *No video available.*

198.  “We need to talk.”…”About my mausoleum?” Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (2011) *No video available.*

197.  “We may not look like much, but between the three of us we have four eyes, four legs, and three working lungs.” The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

196.  “I buried Maude Rockefeller today, and you missed all the fun.” Meet Me in St. Louis (1944) *No video available.*

195.  “Tell that to my frying pan!” Tangled (2010)

194.  “I just think I’m gonna barf.” Fargo (1996)

193.  “Joy, that’s long-term memory, you could get lost in there.””Think positive.” “OK, I’m positive, you’ll get lost in there.” Inside Out (2015)

192.  “Happy Hunger Games, and may the odds be ever in your favor.” The Hunger Games (2012)

191.  “Perhaps you have already observed that in Casablanca, human life is cheap.” Casablanca (1942)

190.  “When you’re slapped, you’ll take it and like it.” The Maltese Falcon (1941)

189.  “I loves my gun.” Bowling for Columbine (2002)

188.  “It all could have happened differently I suppose, but it didn’t.” Mansfield Park (1999) *No video available.*

187.  “As my grandpappy Old Reliable always used to say, don’t recollect if I ever mentioned Old Reliable before.” Lady and the Tramp (1955)

186.  “If they hang you, I’ll always remember you.” The Maltese Falcon (1941)

185. “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.” Rebecca (1940)

184.  “Shane, come back!” Shane (1953)

183.  “What hump?” Young Frankenstein (1974)

182.  “I’d rather stay at home and count wrinkles on my dog’s balls.” Argo (2014)

181.  “Wax on. Wax off.” The Karate Kid (1985)

180.  “It’s a big pretty white plan with red stripes and curtains in the windows, and wheels, and it looks like a big Tylenol.” Airplane (1980)

179.  “Pull in your reel, Mr. Fielding, you’re barking up the wrong fish.” Some Like It Hot (1959)

178.  “As the prince anxiously waited, the stepmother took matters and Florinda’s foot into her own hands.” Into the Woods (2014)

177.  “I fly to the moon. I shrink the moon. I grab the moon. I sit on the toilet.” Despicable Me (2010)

176.  “Wunderbar, but maybe too wunderbar for my wife.” Stalag 17 (1953) *No video available*

"The Maltese Falcon" Humphrey Bogart 1941 Warner Brothers ** I.V.

Picture: The Maltese Falcon (1941), 4 quotes in top 200

Leave a Reply

